Super skinny

I have always been on the underweight side. Ok, I was, till I started work. Case in point, the teachers put me on a milk drinking scheme, in hopes of fattening me up. A physical education teacher was also sent to spy and make sure I was eat – which I was, and as much as the guys in my class. Shopping was also most efficiently done in the kids section.

But now, I’m accosted by skinny people strutting around Raffles Place in body-con dresses with nary an ounce of fat or tummy to be seen on them. But then they pick at their food, and lunch is usually made up of leaves.

Does it get me envious? Sure does. Especially when my family and relatives never fail to remind me how fat I have become. I am not fat, just putting on some inches in the problem areas. And I’m not being delusional.

As a woman, there’s immense pressure to look pretty, have crystal clear skin, baby-soft skin, an hour glass figure, slim gams. To look extremely put together. Now I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being put together. But when it becomes an obsession, and body types and styles other than skinny hourglasses are frowned upon, something’s wrong with our notion of beauty.

Which is why this poem just touched a nerve in me. Sam Levinson wrote this for his grandchild, and Audrey Hepburn chanced on it and shared it.

Enjoy!

Time Tested Beauty Tips

For attractive lips, speak words of kindness.

For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.

For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.

For beautiful hair, let a child run his or her fingers through it once a day.

For poise, walk with the knowledge you’ll never walk alone.

People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; Never throw out anybody.

Remember, If you ever need a helping hand, you’ll find one at the end of your arm.

As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.

The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides.

The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole, but true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows, and the beauty of a woman with passing years only grows!

― Sam Levenson

Leave a Reply

