Movie week

This is a week late, but hey this blog isn’t a real-time diary of my life. Also because I’ve probably got quite a bit of that phlegmatic temperament in me. Let’s just call it, the “lumpy syndrome”, where I just settle in my spot like a lump, letting inertia take over.

Back to the intent of today’s post. Ever since my Dad came back, I’ve been watching so many movies. But those that I remember have songs that trigger something, some thought, some association.

The most poignant bits of The Iron Lady may have been when she stood unwavering in her passion and beliefs. The part I remember most? Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier I Prelude in C playing at the end of the movie. Such a happy song for such a seemingly sad ending. Thatcher appears alone, washing a teacup – that she’d vowed to her husband never to die doing, estranged from her children and stricken with dementia. But this piece of music is commonly used during weddings, and in our social context denotes a new beginning. So maybe, just maybe the producers wanted to end on a note of a new beginning, rather than Thatcher fading into the horizon after a lustrous political career.

In Hugo, the concept that captured me the most was how each of us have a purpose in this world. “I like to imagine that the world is one big machine. You know, machines never have any extra parts. They have the exact number and types of parts they need. So I figure if the entire world is a big machine, I have to be here for some reason, too.” and, “If you lose your purpose … it’s like you’re broken.” But the character that left the deepest impression on me was the inspector. Not because he was played by Sasha Cohen, but because of the little jingle that plays everytime he appears. It’s immediately conjures the image of an ineffectual authority figure who thinks he’s got more power than he really does. Now this is a comedic technique used in musicals, ballets, plays with a satirical or political take, such as in Khachaturian’s Cipollino (Signor Tomato and Prince Lemon).

Yes I know I’m weird. Most friends walk out of movies raving about how good it was for various reasons. Some rave about how cute /hot the leads were. Even fewer (I could count them on one hand) discuss the themes and significance of the characters’ moves. I think I have even weirder movie-watching habits.

But even though it’s the soundtrack that makes me remember a movie most, I’m still looking forward to watching more!

Leave a Reply

