Being Grateful

It’s been a horrid week. I faced off with a prima donna, “justified” an opposing position, and realised even more how I’ve been used by someone who said they’d my back. In times like these, I count my blessings.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not some great example to follow. In fact, I had every intention of posting a rather scathing post. But the network wouldn’t cooperate, and it never went through.

And so, hours later, I choose to be thankful. I thank God for a job – it pays the bills. I thank God for the nasty people – it teaches me to love my enemies, the very anti-thesis of the tit-for-tat world. I thank God for being called into last minute meetings – it means I’ve got brains and value to add. I thank God for the late hours on projects that helped a supervisor get promoted – though manipulated, it means I’m healthy enough to work. I thank God for a fellowship group with its many characters – it means lots of opportunities to learn how to love and be patient.

A pastor once preached that the way to true joy is to be grateful. Knowing what God’s done, and deeply being affected by it. And I think that’s what I’m going to do. It’s too tiring to scowl all day, or be bogged down by negative, defensive feelings.

Be grateful.

Leave a Reply

