Favourite Hobbit quotes

I’ve got a weakness for good writing and wit. When I spotted Tolkien’s ‘The Hobbit’ in the library, I knew I just HAD to read it. True to form, it was wonderful company during the CNY visitations. And here are my favourite bits of the book.

 Image

“Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?”

“There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

“There is more in you of good than you know, child of the kindly West. Some courage and some wisdom, blended in measure. If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”

“Sorry! I don’t want any adventures, thank you. Not Today. Good morning! But please come to tea -any time you like! Why not tomorrow? Good bye!”

 

Leave a Reply

